How to automatically empty trash in Outlook

Geek 2.0 - May 28, 2020

How to automatically empty trash in Outlook - Intertuto

Learn with these instructions how to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder or trash can in Outlook and Outlook Online.

          If you delete the folders from your Outlook inbox or from another folder, these are moved to the Deleted Items folder until you are going to empty them. The Deleted Items folder can be empty manually when you want or automatically when you close Outlook.

The instructions in this article apply to Outlook 2019, 2016, 2013, 2010, Outlook for office 365, and Outlook Online.

How to automatically empty trash in Outlook

Follow these instructions if you want to configure Outlook to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder when you exit the application:

§ Open Outlook;

§ Go to the File tab;

§ Select Options;

§ In the Outlook Options dialog box, select Advanced;

§ In the Start and exit Outlook section, check the empty files folders of items deleted when Outlook is closed;

§ Select OK to apply the changes and close the window;

Empty Trash in Outlook Online

You cannot automatically empty the Outlook.com Deleted Items folder. The Recycle Bin in this case is emptied manually.

§ Right click on the Deleted Items folder;

§ Choose the Empty Folder.

We teach you in this article how to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder. In Outlook, the trash can be emptied automatically. We show you how to do it and apart from that, we teach you how to empty the recycle bin in Outlook Online. Follow the instructions.

Share
Twitter Facebook Google Plus WhatsApp

Read also ...

Recent articles